Skip to content

Computer Vision Syndrome

March 8, 2013

 

I was suffering with headache, neck pain, blurred and double visions and of all things; eye twitching.  I put it down to stress at work but when I was looking for vision optometry in North Vancouver I made an eye exam appointment with Lynn Valley Optometry.  As soon as I described my vision problems to them, they probed and asked about other symptoms before diagnosing Computer Vision Syndrome.

I learned that it can happen to people who use a computer all day or for some it can happen after just a few hours of computer work.  Research suggests that as many as 90 percent of people who use computers in their work, home and schools will suffer some or all of the symptoms.  It is actually getting worse because people use a computer at work all day and go home and get on their computers at home.

The eye strain from computers is because the screen images are created by illuminated pixels and this is harder on the eyes than looking at images on paper with ink.  Your posture also has a great deal to do with the muscle strain and headaches which are the classic signs of Computer Vision Syndrome. Improper light, dry air and poor workstation design also contribute to the problem.

For more information on vision optometry in North Vancouver visit: www.lynnvalleyoptometry.com

From → Health

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment